Iir Hermeliin

web iir_2014


Iir Hermeliin graduated from the Scenography Department at the Estonian Academy of Arts (1997). In 1998 she completed her postgraduate study at the Prague Academy of Performing Arts. In 2003–2012 she worked as the chief designer of the Tallinn City Theatre. Her recent works include: Stone’s/Styne’s “Sugar” (2000, Estonian National Opera), Tätte’s “The Losers” (2003) and “The Well” (2006), Britten’s “Curlew River” and Tulve’s “It is getting so dark” (2004), Tammsaare’s “Truth and Justice, Part 2” (2005), Mrożek’s “The Tailor” (2007), Williams’ “The Night of the Iguana” (2008), Albee’s “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” (2010), Hare’s “Amy’s View” (2011), Pepeljajev’s “Gizzelle” (2011, all at the Tallinn City Theatre), Shakespeare’s/Fanari’s ballet “Midsummer Night’s Dream” (2005), Kivirähk’s “Theatre Paradise” (2006), Põldma’s/Ernits’/Pajusaar’s “Detective Lotte” (2008) and “Cosmonaut Lotte” (2012, together with Rosita Raud), Sherman’s/Fellowes’ “Mary Poppins” (2011), Glazunov’s/Turina’s/Arnold’s “The Beauty and the Beast” (2013, costumes by Louise Flanagan), Kivirähk’s/Aints’ “The Old Barny” (2013), Webber’s “Phantom of the Opera” (2014, costumes by Ellen Cairns), Tubin’s “The Parson of Reigi” (2014, costumes by Kristel Maamägi), Ernits/Põldma/Pajusaar’s “Lotte in the Dream World” (2015), Sondheim/Quentin’s “Sweeney Todd” (2018), Menken’s “The Beauty and the Beast” (2018, all at Theatre Vanemuine), Kivirähk’s “Angel, Angel, Take Me to Heaven” (2009), Jalasto’s “Born on the Internet” (2013), Sikora’s “The Confession of a Masochist” (2014), Lotz/Römer’s “Ridiculous Darkness” (2018),  De Silva’s “The Fame” (2006, Smithbridge Production) etc. In addition, Iir Hermeliin has created numerous interior designs, been the curator and designer for exhibitions, exposition stands and major large-scale events, such as the Eurovision Song Contest 2002 in Tallinn (together with Ain Nurmela and Ülar Mark), the Independence Day reception hosted by the President of Estonia (in Vanemuine Theatre 2007 and 2010) among others. She was awarded the Salme Reek Award (2001), Designer of the Year Award (2002), Tallinn City Theatre’s Best Designer prize (2003, 2004 and 2007), as well as the Estonian Scenographers’ Union’s Award for best design (2004) and the Annual Estonian Theatre Natalie Mei Award (2012) among others.

Coming soon