Festival “The Great Tchaikovsky “ on April 15–19

07.04.2015 / Ülla Veerg


This year the world celebrates the 175th anniversary of the great Russian composer Pyotr Tchaikovsky. Tchaikovsky has presented the world many of the most beautiful operas and ballets in music history, six symphonies, instrumental concerts, cantatas and romances that have thrilled several generations. Estonian National Opera will celebrate the great event with a festival that includes a selection from the composer’s diverse legacy: opera “The Queen of Spades”, ballet “The Sleeping Beauty”, Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23 as well as Symphony No. 3 in D major, Op. 29, conducted by Nikolai Alexeev, a ballet gala and John Cranko’s outstanding dramatic ballet “Onegin” to the music of Tchaikovsky.

15.04 Cranko’s ballet “Onegin”, conductor Jüri Alperten
16.04 Tchaikovsky’s opera “The Queen of Spades”, conductor Jüri Alperten
17.04 Tchaikovsky’s Ballet Gala in the Theatre Hall
17.04 Symphony Concert in the Estonia Concert Hall, conductor Nikolai Alexeev
18.04 Ballet “The Sleeping Beauty”, conductor Vello Pähn
18.04 Tchaikovsky’s Opera Gala, conductors Vello Pähn, Nikolai Alexeev, Jüri Alperten, Lauri Sirp, Kaspar Mänd
19.04 Tchaikovsky’s opera “The Queen of Spades”, conductor Jüri Alperten

Coming soon