ERGO dance awards were given to Abigail Sheppard and Vitali Nikolajev

03.05.2014 / Ülla Veerg


On May 3, the ERGO Dance Awards 2014 were handed over to Abigail Sheppard and Vitali Nikolajev – dancers of the Estonian National Ballet. Yearly awards of the main sponsor of the national ballet – ERGO – have been given since 2010 already. The awards were given to the dancers by Maarika Liivamägi, Member of the Board of ERGO.

Abigail Sheppard began her professional ballet training in 2002 at Canada’s National Ballet School. While studying, she had numerous performance opportunities with the school, as well as with The National Ballet of Canada. In 2011, she moved to Amsterdam to study with the Dutch National Ballet Academy. During this time she performed in Dutch National Ballet’s productions of Tchaikovsky’s “Swan Lake” (chor. Rudi van Danzig) and “The Nutcracker & The Mouse King” (chor. Wayne Eagling). Since August 2012, Abigail is the member of the Estonian National Ballet. Her most significant role is Glauce in Schiavoni’s “Medea” to the music of Stravinsky, Schnittke and Dead Can Dance.

Vitaly Nikolayev graduated from the Tallinn Choreography School in 1986. Since 1986 he dances at the Estonian National Ballet troupe. Repertoire: Soloist (Fredmann’s “Last Songs”), Oscar (“The Fairytale” in Pictures by Bournonville), Alexis (Paull’s “Conservatoire”), Fool (Tchaikovsky’s “Swan Lake”), Adam (Penderecki’s “Paradise Lost”), Wooer and Prince Fortuné (“The Sleeping Beauty” by Tchaikovsky), Devil (Tubin’s “Goblin”), Station guard (Shchedrin’s “Anna Karenina”), Mercutio (Prokofiev’s “Romeo and Juliet”), Forester (Adam’s “Giselle”), Camacho (Minkus’s “Don Quixote”), Madge (“La Sylphide” by Bournonville), Coppelius (Delibes’s “Coppélia”), Monsieur G. M. and Gaoler (MacMillan’s “Manon”), Alfredo (Hynd’s “Rosalinde”), Petrushka (Stravinsky’s “Petrushka”) etc.

Photos: Rünno Lahesoo

Coming soon